Alex Cross’s Trial

I was born in the early 50’s and came of age in the late 60’s. I remember the Civil Rights Movement from the perspective of the front page of a mid-western daily newspaper. Some how in history class – we never got past WW2 and our understanding of carpetbaggers and tarring and feathering came mostly from Wagon Train reruns. – All Woefully inadequate.

This book was the first real window into racism for me. I was shocked and horrified. I grew up sheltered from racism – and never imagined the depth of hate. I read several of Harriet Beecher Stowe’s books years ago and understood how awful slavery was – but I thought it was fixed by the Civil War. I am so sorry

If you are white, you probably don’t really understand and you really need to read this book.

About Kiwi Starr

Wife, Christian believer, mother of two adult children, Grandmother of Two toddlers, Great Aunt to many, retired science teacher, writer, animal lover.
This entry was posted in Audio books, My Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

